Rest in Peace Part Two

It’s with a heavy heart that I have to leave a part of my father in China. But Dad’s legacy lives on in Kaiping .

Dad had such a heart for his ancestral hometown that he told me that he wanted his ashes spread out on the Tanjiang River (谭江河) in Kaiping because the river bears the family name Tan (谭). Dad made several trips to the area to re-connecr with the family his parents left behind. He wanted to connect with cousins, aunts,and uncles because he felt it was his duty to do so.

And now it is our turn to maintain those connections. While I’m grieving for Dad’s passing I’m ecstatic that I made the journey with my two sisters and their families. I’m especially happy that my niece and nephew got to meet their Chinese cousins for the first time.

I hope it will not be the last.

img_20161008_105546

Leave a Reply

